Surprising explanation for why face recognition matures unusually late in human development!

I didn’t expect to be reading this but I can recognize that this discovery seems to explain why face recognition is human cognitive ability that hits its peak surprisingly late in human development, and I’m now wondering how this fits into my theories about the relationship between my super-recognition and my synaesthesia, and that includes wondering how this discovery fits with my immune hypothesis of synaesthesia (which is all about pruning rather than proliferation), and of course I’m wondering how this fits in with what is known about super-recognizers. I guess I should just calm down and read the full text.

Coghlan, Andy Brain’s face recognition area grows much bigger as we get older. New Scientist. January 5th 2017.
https://www.newscientist.com/article/2117259-brains-face-recognition-area-grows-much-bigger-as-we-get-older/

Jesse Gomez, Michael A. Barnett, Vaidehi Natu, Aviv Mezer, Nicola Palomero-Gallagher, Kevin S. Weiner, Katrin Amunts, Karl Zilles, Kalanit Grill-Spector Microstructural proliferation in human cortex is coupled with the development of face processing. Science. January 6th 2017.

http://science.sciencemag.org/content/355/6320/68

 

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Comments

  • Bryan Lee  On February 2, 2017 at 9:17 pm

    My wife is hyperthymestic. After almost fifteen years, I understand your perception and we hope to influence other researchers to the great potential all of you have. LinkedIn Karen Lee, please locate us and shate your experiences. God bless

  • C. Wright  On February 9, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    Sorry for approving this post so late. I cannot find a hyperthymestic Karen Lee in Linkedin, sorry. Linkedin isn’t really searchable and it isn’t made to serve folks like me who either aren’t on it or are on it but wont pay for an upgraded account. Another issue with Linkedin is that last time I checked it was not archived by the Internet Archive, so info found there can’t be used with confidence as any kind of evidence, because it could be pulled off at any time with no lasting record. I’m not a fan of Linkedin.

Leave a Reply

