Anti-gravity by British India – a rock song with a definite oceanic quality

The sea was a big part of my life in my childhood, and memories of the sea are so deeply etched in my mind that it is a theme that comes up over and over again in my synaesthesia, with is an atypical memory-related variation in brain functioning that develops in the earlier years of childhood, around 5 or 6 years. At that age, all I wanted to do was swim. I experience the well-known types of synesthesia triggered by listening to music – colours, simple visuals, spatial concepts and abstract concepts, and I also experience aspects of the sensory experience of swimming in the ocean when listening to some pieces of music. Anti Gravity from the Avalanche CD by the amazing Aussie band British India is a very evocative song for me, I think because of the way that it surges and crashes, like waves in the sea. I become immersed in the music, I swim in it, and parts of it are most definitely a deep blue-green colour. Be sure to swim between the flags!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVgy3nz3C98

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jesus  On May 3, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web
    address and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to exploring your web page repeatedly.

    • Anna  On December 6, 2013 at 8:36 pm

      Hello all, my name is Anna and I am an UK based PhD researcher looking for super-recognizers for my eye-movement research. If you live in UK and would be interested in taking part, please contact me. Our lab will cover your travel expenses and reimburse you for your time. Contact details are available here-http://staffprofiles.bournemouth.ac.uk/display/abobak Cheers, Anna

  • C. Wright  On May 20, 2013 at 1:56 am

    Thanks for your kind comment!

Leave a Reply

