I’ve discovered another face memory test

It can be accessed from this page at the website of the BBC:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/sleep/

I can’t find any information about which scientists might have created this test.

I had a crack at it. There seemed to be something weird going on with clicking on answers, but it did work.

It appears that the test measures two things – face memory and also “temporal memory” which seems to be the ability to judge when you saw the image, rather than whether or not you saw it.

My scores were “Recognition score 200% Average score 92%” and “Temporal memory score 91% Average score 68%”

I’m not quite sure what the 200% means, but in the details of my results of the test it says I recognized all 48 photos in both 24 photo sets, so I guess it means I got a perfect score twice for each set of photos. I found the basic face recognition element of this test very easy, easy knowing which I had and also which photos I hadn’t seen before. I did identify one photo that I hadn’t seen previously as one that I had, but this was towards the beginning of the test and I hadn’t read the question properly and understood that I was to identify the photo, not the face. The photo which I scored as a false-positive identification was I believe a face, but not a photo that I had seen before, hence the mistake. There’s an odd discrepancy in the results given for the items not seen. The text says I got two false positives, while the responses recorded for individual items suggests I only got one false positive. I believe I only got one. The average false positive score given is one to three.

I think the fact that I only scored one (two?) false-positive identification in this face memory test shows that I do not have some type of hyperfamiliarity, misidentification or delusion disorder as a basis of my superior face recognition abilities or my experience of The Strange Phenomenon.

I thought that one of the faces shown in the test, an oldish man, looked like an old David Bowie, and another face reminded me a lot of my late father-in-law, no doubt he came from the same part of the world. But I’m sharp enough to see that these faces weren’t those of David Bowie or one of my in-laws. This is a topic that I might write about later – recognizing strong similarities between the faces of people who are not obviously connected.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

